The MRSEC is managed by an executive committee consisting of director Nick Abbott and co-director Paul Evans, Tom Kuech (IRG 1), Susan Babcock (IRG 1), Paul Voyles (IRG 2), Mark Ediger (IRG 2), Nick Abbott (IRG 3), Doug Weibel (IRG 3), Izabela Szlufarska (ICG), Anne Lynn Gillian-Daniel (IEG), and Jerry Hunter (Facilities). The research is carried out by interdisciplinary research groups (IRGs and ICG) on a rolling horizon basis and smaller seed groups on a limited-term (2 - 3 year) basis.  

IRG 1: New Semiconductors from an Unstable World will explore the creation of new multi-element compounds and semiconductor materials by gaining a fundamental understanding of the effects of strain, dimension, and flexibility on their phase behavior, stability, defect nucleation and properties.

IRG 2: Ultrastable Glasses: New Materials and New Insights seeks to design ultrastable glassy materials and use them to address fundamental problems in glass science.

IRG 3: Functional Liquid Crystalline Assemblies, Materials and Interfaces seeks to design, synthesize and process new classes of functional liquid crystalline materials (LCs), composites and interfaces. It does so through strategies that fuse the design of multifunctional polymers and mesogens with studies of confinement and dynamic ordering of molecular assemblies at interfaces of soft anisotrophic materials.

ICGInterdisciplinary Computational Group aims to promote synergies between computational scientists across IRGs, integrate educational and outreach activities in computational sciences, and develop shared computational facilities for materials research.

IEGInterdisciplinary Education Group efforts impact the wider scientific community and the public.

Research Facilities supported by the MRSEC are available for use by the national materials science community.